Quick Chick Flick: “For Keeps”

24 Jan

Yesterday was a typical Monday at the office for me. I spent most of the day in a fog, struggling to adjust to the harsh reality of pivot charts, Access databases, and PowerPoint slides after a weekend mostly spent lounging in my pajamas. So, when I got home I immediately got back into those fuzzy pajamas, poured myself a big ‘ol glass of red wine, settled in on my couch and fired up Netflix.

It’s days like this that a good old-fashioned “chick flick” is just what the doctor ordered. Then I realized that I have a day like this like, at least once a week, so it’s not very rare in my house (sorry hubby). But I got to thinking and I know I am not the only girl in the world who from time to time just needs to sit down and watch a sappy drama or romantic comedy with a strong female-lead, right? Therefore, I decided to start a new series of posts on my blog called “Quick Chick Flicks” where I’ll review some of my favorite classics and sometimes new chick flicks!

So last night I chose a good one from my childhood that my sister and I used to watch any chance we could.

For Keeps (1988) Starring: Molly Ringwald, Randall Batinkoff

First of all, it’s an 80′s movie with Molly Ringwald. So it’s automatically awesome. For Keeps is about two high school students, Darcy and Stan (Ringwald and Batinkoff), who are beginning their senior year, with high hopes of colleges and careers. When Darcy unexpectedly becomes pregnant, they are forced to decide whether to have the baby or have an abortion, keep it or give it up for adoption. When they tell their parents (over Thanksgiving dinner, by the way…yeah) all hell breaks loose as their parents freak out and decide their fate for them – Darcy will go to the clinic in the morning and have an abortion. Whether she likes it or not.

But when Darcy gets to the clinic, she decides she can’t go through with it, and runs back to Stan, who welcomes her with open arms. He tells her that they will make it work – they’ll get jobs, move in together and become a family. Because they love each other. Sigh. Yeah, this is a total chick flick.

They move in to this tiny, disgusting apartment because their parents basically disown them, and Stan gets an after school job as a shoe salesman, while Darcy enrolls in night school to dodge the harassment from the mean girls in class. They get married, make it to their senior prom, and everything is wonderful for a while. But it’s obvious they have no idea what they’re getting themselves into.

While dancing at their senior prom, Stan “dips” Darcy and her water breaks! They rush to the hospital and, after a totally un-glamorous child-birth, baby Thea is born.


Darcy experiences a major case of postpartum depression, while Stan is overwhelmed by the hospital bills. He takes on another job as a roofer, and begins drinking. Their happy marriage soon crumbles, and they are forced to move in with Darcy’s mother, which puts an even greater strain on their marriage.

I won’t go any further, for fear of spoiling the ending for anyone who hasn’t seen it, but I will say that it has a happy ending and will definitely leave you reaching for the kleenex box (don’t they all?). For Keeps is available for instant viewing on Netflix, and I highly recommend it if you need a good love story in your life right now!

Oh, and it also features a Pauly Shore cameo in it, too. So that’s an added bonus.

7 Responses to “Quick Chick Flick: “For Keeps””

  1. smalltwnfashion January 24, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    You had me at Pauly Shore cameo!

    Seriously though, I’m always looking for Netflix suggestions – I’ll be putting this one in my queue!

    • Mandy January 24, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

      Ha! Yes, Catherine. Love me some 80′s movies!

  2. stylebyladyg January 24, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    Thats one to wach when the hubby is out! Although he did like P.S I love You!

    • Mandy January 24, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      Definitely! I can’t believe you got him to watch P.S. I Love You. What a sweet hubby you have!

  3. runfordessert January 25, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    I haven’t seen that movie in forever! It is a good one though. I have been craving some 80′s movies lately. I might have to hit up the RedBox soon to see what they have.

  4. jeffro517 January 29, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    Good trip down memory lane. Thanks for a great post!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. » A few of my favorite things. Razzle Dazzle - February 2, 2012

    [...] Quick Chick Flick: “For Keeps” (goodgirlsinc.wordpress.com) Filed under Uncategorized | Leave a comment [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

