The Reason I’ll Watch The Super Bowl (Hint: It Involves Ferris Bueller)

2 Feb

It’s that time of year again…parties are being planned, fridges are being stocked, and furniture is being arranged around big screens across America. All in preparation for “The Big Day”. What, you think I’m talking about football?? As if! I’m talking about the commercials, of course! This is really the only reason I watch the Super Bowl, as I am not much of a football fan. But I do tune in every year, just this one time, to see the million dollar productions that advertising companies create.

This year, I have already found a Super Bowl commercial that I LOVE. And it’s not just because it’s a tribute to Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. (Hello, my name is Mandy and I am obsessed with all things 80′s.) I’m really excited about the Honda CR-V commercial starring Matthew Broderick!

In the original 2 minute production seen below, Broderick wakes up and fakes an illness so he can take a day off from acting, with a very familiar song playing in the background. If you are a fellow Bueller lover, I believe you’ll really enjoy this.

I think they’ll only be showing a 30 second clip during the game on Sunday, but you can always come here and watch it over, and over, and over…

Other commercials I am looking forward to seeing on Sunday are from Budweiser, Coke, CareerBuilder, Doritos, Snickers and GM. These companies are notorious for putting a lot of creativity, humor and money into their ads and usually don’t disappoint me. Oh, and I am a big fan of anything with animals or babies – throw one of those in the commercial and you can’t go wrong!

I studied Advertising in college and even have a degree in it (not that it’s being used for that and most likely never will be) so commercials are something that I pay attention to. In school, I studied print and television ads, and was taught what to look for in a good advertisement, and what makes one not so good. I am notorious for critiquing commercials (much to my family’s dismay sometimes, I’m sure) and the Super Bowl is the mother of all commercial critique opportunities for me. Bring it on, Super Bowl Sunday, I’m ready!

I hope you all have fun watching the Super Bowl – whether it’s for the actual game or for the commercials. Let me know which ones are your favorites!

4 Responses to “The Reason I’ll Watch The Super Bowl (Hint: It Involves Ferris Bueller)”

  1. runfordessert February 2, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    I watch the Super Bowl for the commercials, too. They always pull out the big guns for the big game!

    • Mandy February 2, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

      Yes, girl. Millions of dollars worth of big guns.

  2. carla February 4, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    LOADED!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The 10 Best Super Bowl Commercials of 2013 « Good Girls Inc - February 5, 2013

    [...] Bowl commercial highs and lows and debating which were the best. Well, as you may remember from my post last year, pretty much the only two reasons I’ll tune in to a football game are to see big production ads [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

