Pet Fashion – Love It or Hate It?

23 Jun

This week Bret Michaels and PetSmart released Pets Rock, a new line of rock and roll inspired pet accessories for kitties and canines. While I was a little confused at first by Bret’s new business endeavor, I liked the idea since I think a little dressed-up animal is just about the cutest thing ever. And after reading more about him online I found out that Michaels is a longtime animal lover and proud pet parent of  two German Shepherds, Diesel and Phoenix.  So I guess the partnership makes sense, right? All of this pet accessory googling led me to a newfound fascination with the pet fashion industry, which in turn led me to this blog post. Are people going overboard with pet fashion?

An estimated 63 percent of Americans own a pet, the majority being either a cat or a dog. So, with over half of the population calling their furry, four-legged friend a member of the family, the pet fashion industry is kind of a big deal.  And I’m not talking about just a rhinestone studded collar or fashion bandana, either. These days you can find everything from designer diamond jewelry to pet nail polish. I think that Paris Hilton started this craze when she began toting her cute little Chihuahua Tinkerbell around town decked out in diamonds and pink satin. And of course people jumped all over that because if Paris is doing it, then it must be the right thing to do…

Here are some items that I found online for pets that I am still trying to decide if I love or think are a little bit ridiculous.

Dress your pup like a canine celebrity at UrbanPup.com, where you can find affordable outfits inspired by Beverly Hills Chihuahua and even Bruiser’s outfit from Legally Blonde.

Walk your pooch on a designer leash, where you’ll be sure to turn heads with 100% leather and some bling-bling. AndreaLevineDesigns.com has some really cute accessories if you are looking to spend up to $350 on a leash.

BitchNewYork.com carries multiple designer pet brands and features many celebrity clients. I found a line called Kiki Hamann that makes couture costumes for pups, and for just $2,000 you can dress your pet like an “Amazon Fairy” or for $3,800 like “Little Red Riding Hood”. No, I’m not kidding.

OPI has released a nail polish that is safe for pets, appropriately called “Pawlish”. You can choose from one of the six colors at UpscalePup.com.

Don’t forget the bag! Tote your kitty or pooch around in style in a designer Louis Vuitton carrier starting at $2,340.

 

4 Responses to “Pet Fashion – Love It or Hate It?”

  1. A Purrfect Cat June 24, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    i like it for dogs but not for cats :”)

  2. Don and carol June 29, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    Loved this, I had a male chihuahua, but I never dressed him up. I would have loved to have dressed cats up when I was little but wasn’t around any. Always looks great when
    i see Paris with here sweet little dog dressed up and ready to go.

    • Mandy July 14, 2012 at 10:20 am #

      I bet he would have been cute in a little doggie tuxedo. Not sure how a cat would handle being dressed up, I am doing good if I can get a bow on one of mine!

Leave a comment