Creative Alternatives to Curse Words

30 Oct
Cartoon of a person waving fist

Image via Wikipedia

When I was younger I had kind of a potty mouth. But as I get older, I realize that I don’t really like to hear people use swear words casually in conversations.  Let’s face it, it’s a total turn off. It might make you feel better, but it really doesn’t make you sound cooler or anything. I propose that we use different words to get our point across in frustrating or intense situations. Here are a few of my favorite creative alternatives to cussing:

Cheese and Rice
Cripes
Fiddle Sticks
Frick
Frickin’ A
Fudge
Geez Louise
Heck Fire
Holy Cow
Holy Heck
Holy Moly
Mother of Pearl
Snickers
Son of a Gun
Shut the Front Door

Let’s all get creative when expressing ourselves! We may get some funny looks, though. What are some of your favorite alternatives to cussing? Leave me a comment and tell me so I can add it to my list!

2 Responses to “Creative Alternatives to Curse Words”

  1. Cassie October 30, 2011 at 4:25 am #

    Kiss My Grits, Ay Caramba, Ah Shucks, Nuts, Oh Crackerjacks, Bitter Berries (that one is from Strawberry Shortcake)…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Office Etiquette 101: Ten Basic Rules for the Workplace « Good Girls Inc - April 4, 2012

    […] make you seem “cool”, despite what you have been telling yourself since you were 13. (Click here for a list of creative alternatives to curse words.)  Refrain from cursing in meetings, on […]

Leave a Reply

