Totally Awesome 80’s Moments: “Top That” Rap-Off from ‘Teen Witch’

4 Nov

The movie Teen Witch is one of my all-time favorite 80’s movies. Growing up, my sister and I would sit glued to the television watching it every chance we got. It didn’t even bother me that the creepy little lady from Poltergeist was in it. There are so many totally awesome 80’s moments in this movie, but the one that takes the cake has got to be…the “Top That” rap-off.

First of all, if you’ve never seen this movie what the heck is wrong with you here is a quick plot summary. Louise is a normal, slightly nerdy teenage girl who finds out she is  descended from Salem witches and inherits magical powers on her 16th birthday. So she uses her new powers for what any girl would: (1) makes herself super pretty, (2) makes herself the most popular girl in school, (3) gets revenge on the cheerleaders who made fun of her, (4) makes the captain of the football team and hottest guy in school fall in love with her, and (5) gives her BFF the hippest rap skills ever and the courage to face her crush and his posse in a rap-off. Because I would totally do that for my bestie if I had magical powers.


As you can see, this is truly one of the greatest moments of 80’s film. I will never get over the way Polly says “Look at how funky he is”!

What are some of your favorite 80’s movie moments?

One Response to “Totally Awesome 80’s Moments: “Top That” Rap-Off from ‘Teen Witch’”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why I Love Lloyd Dobler « Good Girls Inc - January 18, 2012

    […] been a while since my last “Totally Awesome 80′s Moments” post, so I think it’s time for another one! […]

Leave a Reply

