Christmas Decorations: How Soon Is Too Soon?

8 Nov

I love Christmas. I just love it! It’s the time of year for sparkly lights, warm sweaters, pine scents, hot cocoa, Lifetime Christmas movie marathons, etc, etc. I could go on and on about all of the things this time of year means to me.

Every year about this time, I start to get the “Christmas itch”. The stores are putting out their Christmas decorations and displays, so why can’t I? I really think the only thing preventing my house from looking like Santa’s Headquarters at the North Pole right now is that it is for sale. (My husband keeps telling me that it might freak out potential buyers if they walk into a house fully decorated for December 25th when it’s only the first week of November. As if!)

So, to help scratch my Christmas itch, I’ve come up with a plan. I will ease myself into the holidays this year by giving myself a little bit at a time. The way I see it, it’s ok to put up Christmas decorations the day after Thanksgiving. So I’ve got 3 weeks (18 days – but who’s counting?). Here’s my strategy:

  • Week 1 – Start listening to Christmas music. This will be something I can do discretely in the privacy of my car or on my iPod, so I shouldn’t get any strange looks or questions. And it will certainly give me that Christmassy feeling.
  • Week 2 – Map out my holiday decorations. I’m talking full-on blue prints of my house detailing where every light and candy cane will be placed. I will start by creating a database list of all my decorations. So I will be ready to place them throughout the inside (and outside) of the house.
  • Week 3 – In the final stages of my plan, I will purchase any last-minute decorations that I see the need for after inspecting my list and map. I’ll do the whole “Thanksgiving” thing, and count down the hours till Friday, November 25th.

Merry Christmas, y’all!

6 Responses to “Christmas Decorations: How Soon Is Too Soon?”

  1. thisisthecraftyone November 8, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    Love your post – I have to admit, as a HUGE fan of anything festive, the how soon is too soon thing plays on my mind every year! I’m getting away with it this year by making my decorations! πŸ™‚

    • Good Girl November 8, 2011 at 7:11 am #

      Thanks! I think I’ll start making some crafty decorations in the next few weeks to keep me in the Christmas spirit. I’ll check your blog for ideas πŸ˜‰

  2. lifevesting November 8, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Great holiday planning post! I’ve been listening to some Nat King Cole on my iPod on the train to work – like you said listening to Christmas music is a discrete way to get in the holiday spirit. I’m also trying to hold off on watching holiday films til the week of Thanksgiving… we’ll see if I make it.

    • Good Girl November 8, 2011 at 8:49 am #

      Thank you! Good luck, girl. I know I probably won’t make it. The Polar Express dvd has been glaring at me from my shelf for the past few days… I’ll try and be strong!

  3. Megan Williamson (@MegMWiliamson) November 8, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Oh my goodness.. I would put mine up in July if I could. I am breaking out my Christmas trees (yes there are multiples) on Sunday. Then next weekend…. everything is getting decorated. I just won’t turn on the outside lights until after Thanksgiving. My house is also for sale, but if I were a home buyer I would love to see a house decorated for Christmas. I actually have built my last 2 houses around my Christmas decorations.. seriously.

    • Good Girl November 8, 2011 at 11:36 am #

      Ha! Megan, I would love to see your house all decorated! You’ll have to send me pictures.

Leave a Reply

