A Thanksgiving Assignment

24 Nov
The First Thanksgiving, painted by Jean Leon G...

Image via Wikipedia

Happy Thanksgiving, girls! Today is the day we gather with our families and sometimes close friends and celebrate the things we are thankful for. We celebrate by feasting (because eating is the  best way to say “thank you”, of course!), shopping, and watching television.

Does this seem odd to anyone else?

This year, how about a little more human interaction? I mean real human interaction, besides “pass the cranberry sauce” and “excuse me” to fellow midnight madness shoppers.  I’d like to encourage you to engage in actual conversation with those that mean most to you – no texts, emails, or Facebook wall posts. Take the time today to tell the people you love that you are thankful for them, and ask them what they are thankful for.  Face to face. A good time to do this is at the dinner table. Now, I realize many of you may be freaking out right now because you’ve forgotten how to communicate with people in person. But don’t worry, I know you can do it! And I know you will be glad that you did.

Let’s celebrate Thanksgiving this year, and what it really means. Here are some of the things I am thankful for:

  • My health
  • My family
  • Good friends who actually care about me
  • My kitties
  • My job
  • Weekends
  • Vacations
  • Past holidays that I’ve shared with my family and the memories we’ve made that I will cherish forever

What are some things you are thankful for?

Leave a Reply

