Red Carpet Review: Golden Globes 2012

16 Jan

Last night was the 69th annual Golden Globes in Hollywood and the red carpet saw some of the most amazing fashion of the year so far. Lace, metallics, reds and pale pinks were some of the trends on the women, while the men kept it classy in their usual black tuxes. Of course, there was the occasional accessory (ahem, Brad Pitt’s cane).

Anyway, let’s get to the gowns! Here’s what I loved, and yes, they are in order of how fabulous I thought they were.

Kate Beckinsale looked absolutely breathtaking in a strapless Roberto Cavalli gown.

Charlize Theron could have stopped traffic in her plunging, pale pink Dior Couture gown.

The only thing better than the front of Claire Danes’ monochrome J. Mendel gown was the sparkly back detail.

Lea Michele made jaws drop across the world with a bold metallic cut-out Marchesa gown.

Jessica Alba was sweet and feminine in her gorgeous Gucci gown.

Nicole Kidman looked chic and racy in a studded Versace gown.

Michelle Williams’ midnight blue Jason Wu velvet dress would have made Marilyn proud.

Evan Rachel Wood rocked a Gucci Premiere gown that had the best of both worlds – sparkles and feathers!

Emma Stone in a scorching Lanvin gown. I love the shoulder detail and the eagle gives it her signature slightly edgy look.

Nicole Richie looked like a rock star in a studded metallic Julien Macdonald gown.

Jessica Chastain glowed in a white, pearled Givenchy gown. I think this was one of the most “lady-like” looks of the night.

Zooey Deschanel traded quirkiness for daintiness in a one-of-a-kind Prada dress.

Viola Davis looked luscious in Pucci.

Rooney Mara was severely chic in a black Nina Ricci gown.

Salma Hayek turned heads in a black and gold Gucci gown.

But not everyone could look as stunning as these ladies above. Here is who did not put their best fashion foot forward on the red carpet this year.

Connie Britton obviously got her Golden Globe invitation confused with her invitation to Sunday brunch.

Freida Pinto’s Prada dress lacked form and function for me.

There was nothing funny about Kristen Wiig’s drab look in a nude Bill Blass dress.

Not only did Mila Kunis look bored, but her black Dior dress bored me.

Dianne Agron’s J. Mendel dress was too busy and bright for my liking.

Zhang Wei Ping’s pink and black lace dress had way too much going on.

Naya Rivera’s dress was too plain and needed a good ironing. And that seam down the middle was just unflattering.

The fashion police need to arrest Kelly Osbourne for looking like a martian in Zac Posen.

Is she laughing because she’s just now realizing we can see through it? There are a lot of mixed feelings about cutie Piper Perabo’s, gigantic Theory dress, but I feel pretty bad about it.

Another one sure to wind up on some people’s best-dressed list, Jessica Biel’s lacy, long-sleeved Elie Saab frock didn’t do anything for me.

I was disappointed that there weren’t any dresses that made me scream “What was she thinking!?” but I guess that is a good thing, right? Here are the two that I am on the fence with. I can’t decide if I like them or not!

Sarah Michelle Gellar in a Monique Lhuillier gown chosen by her two-year old daughter. I like it, but I am not sure it was appropriate for this venue.

Cutie Reese Witherspoon’s sultry red Zac Posen gown was too tight and the top looked funny to me. And I felt bad that she had to waddle all night! But it’s hard for her to look bad in anything, really.

I’m sure you noticed a lacking of some of the major movie stars (Angeline Jolie, Kate Winslet, Natalie Portman) on my list. This is because I was not impressed with their gowns. Kind of boring, really. I was most impressed with the dresses that made a statement, and stood out in the crowd.

What are your opinions? Who made your jaw drop and who were you disappointed in? Overall, I think it was a glamorous night for the red carpet and it just confirmed my obsession with $500,000 evening gowns that I will never be able to afford/wear. Thanks, Golden Globes!

6 Responses to “Red Carpet Review: Golden Globes 2012”

  1. stylebyladyg January 16, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    My favs were Angelina Jolie, Kate Beckinsdale, Nichole Ritchie, Emma Stone, Helen Mirren, Jane Fonda, Clare Danes and Viola Davis. But to be honest there were more faux pas than wow’s! disappointing really

    • Mandy January 16, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

      Yes! I thought Helen Mirren looked beautiful, too!

  2. Sarah January 18, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    My favourites are Sofia Vergara in Vera Wang (she looked breathtakingly stunning). Jenna Dewan in Maria Lucia Hohan (perfection from head to toe). Dianna Agron in Giles Deacon (a very risky choice but it made her look great). Salma Hayek in Gucci (amazing). Angelina Jolie in Atelier Versace (she looked increadible). Tilda Swinton in Haider Ackerman (only Tilda is able to pull it off) and Nicole Kidman in Atelier Versace (Nicole looks absolutely flawless).
    http://stylefabrique.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/golden-globes-2012/

    • Mandy January 19, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

      I agree about Tilda Swinton. She is hit or miss for me but I did like her look at the GG this year. She is definitely a unique lady!

  3. smalltwnfashion January 19, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    Nicole Kidman was my favorite of the night – and I LOVED Sarah Michelle’s tie-dye dress! How refreshing to see something totally different and fun.

    • Mandy January 19, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

      Yes! LOVED Nicole Kidman’s dress. I also liked SMG’s dress, it was very different. It ended up on a lot of worst-dressed lists but I think she pulled it off nicely!

Leave a Reply

