Why I Love Lloyd Dobler

18 Jan

It’s been a while since my last “Totally Awesome 80’s Moments” post, so I think it’s time for another one! A little extra 80’s nostalgia is never a bad thing, right?

Anyone who knows me well knows that Say Anything is my all-time favorite movie. What is it about this movie that makes it my favorite? There are so many wonderful things: Cameron Crowe’s beautiful writing and witty dialouge, the loveable and quirky characters, the groovy 80’s mood of the movie that just gives me that childhood feeling, etc, etc.  These are all contenders for what makes Say Anything so wonderful, but what really makes this movie my favorite is Lloyd Dobler.

Sigh. Oh, Lloyd.

Here are some of the reasons why I love him so much:

  •  In a world full of guys, he’s a man.  In Say Anything, Lloyd Dobler isn’t afraid to go after what he wants (Diane Court) and doesn’t really care what people think of him. He stands up for his friends (that crazy girl Corey who is unhealthily obsessed with her jerk ex-boyfriend) and knows what he wants (and doesn’t want) out of life. I love the scene of the movie where he is having dinner with Diane, her father and her father’s upscale friends and he tells them about his career aspirations:

“I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career, I don’t want to do that.” ~Lloyd Dobler

  • His amazing fashion. Lloyd Dobbler brought new purpose to the trench coat. No longer was it only worn on rainy, cold days.  After Lloyd sported it with a t-shirt and baggy pants, the trench coat became a staple for any super cool, yet sensitive  dude. That, and a nice pair of high top sneakers. And how cute is he in a skinny tie?


  • His taste in music. For starters, he blasts the amazing “In Your Eyes” by Peter Gabriel for the love of his life outside her window. I mean, really. Does it get any better than that? He can also be seen in Fishbone and Clash t-shirts throughout the movie. 
  • He is a hopeless romantic. As if the boombox scene wasn’t the most romantic thing we’ve ever seen a guy do for a girl in a film, there’s more. Telling Diane that he loves her is a huge deal to Lloyd, and he cries in the rain when she breaks up with him afterwards, saying “I gave her my heart, and she gave me a pen”.  He also writes and sends her a letter telling her he’ll “always be there” for her after they make love the first time. Are you swooning yet, ladies?!

I could seriously go on and on about Say Anything. I love this movie! I hope you have all seen it and if you haven’t, go watch it right now. I promise you will be head over heels for the quirky, lovable Lloyd.

Who are some of your favorite male characters from 80’s movies?

3 Responses to “Why I Love Lloyd Dobler”

  1. Amanda February 12, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    I’m in love with Lloyd… When he tells Diane that it doesn’t matter if she wants him back because she needs ‘someone’ or because she needs me and kisses her, my heart melted. More guys should be this way, but then again these are called ‘men’

    • Mandy February 12, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

      YES…that was a great line. There are so many great lines from that movie. I also love ” Don’t be a guy, Lloyd. The world is full of guys. Be a man.” Love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quick Chick Flick: Disney’s “Prom” « Good Girls Inc - April 7, 2012

    […] together. And the lovable character Lloyd (I swear he was inspired by my favorite hopeless romantic Lloyd Dobler) is desperately seeking a prom date and asks almost every girl in the school with no […]

Leave a Reply

