Valentine’s Day: To Celebrate or Not To Celebrate?

6 Feb

With Valentine’s Day rapidly approaching, I feel the need to do a few posts about this special day. So here’s my first one; I think it’s a good place to start.

Valentine’s Day is the one day a year that is whole-heartedly devoted to romance and love. It’s basically an opportunity for people to express their feelings to that certain someone, mostly by wooing them with roses and chocolates. I personally am a big fan of Valentine’s Day. I don’t go all out and decorate, or make a big spectacle of the holiday or anything like that. But I do see the importance of this one day a year dedicated to love, something that is essential to our nature as human beings.

Now, while I enjoy this holiday and choose to celebrate it, I realize there are a lot of people who do not see this day as a real holiday and choose to treat February 14th as any other day of the year. There are even some who take it as far as going out of their way to make it known how much they loathe this day and everything that it stands for. I have come across several people like this in my life, and I must admit I do not understand why they hate Valentine’s Day so much. I have flat-out asked them but no one has ever really given me an answer. It’s usually a girl saying she and her boyfriend/husband just “think it’s dumb” and don’t do anything to celebrate. This response usually gives me the impression that this girl is just going along with it because she knows her boyfriend/husband is not the type of guy who does anything nice for her, and she really wishes he would, but she knows he won’t. And that’s just sad, because every girl wants to feel loved and special, whether they admit it or not.

I also often wonder why some men don’t want to do something nice for their girlfriend or wife on Valentine’s Day. Did they have a bad experience in a past relationship and now feel scorned by love and everything that it stands for? Did they think as children that since they didn’t get this day off from school then Valentine’s Day must not be a real holiday?  I don’t know, they won’t tell me. But these are things that I’m willing to get to the bottom of.

Celebrate
If you are like me and you enjoy Valentine’s Day, you may have started thinking about what you are going to do for your significant other this year. There are the obvious choices: roses, chocolates, jewelry, dinner and a movie, etc. Then there are some not so traditional choices, like a creative gift specifically chosen or put together for your Valentine. Personally, I enjoy these types of gifts, as they are more personal and show that some actual thought went in to the gift – which in itself, is one of the best ways you can tell someone you love them. If you are having trouble thinking of creative ways to say “I love you” this Valentine’s Day (don’t worry, you aren’t alone), here are a few ideas and sites that may help you:

  •  Create a handmade Valentine. Everyone loves something handmade. It clearly shows that you created something especially for your sweetie, and is a sure-fire way to score some major romance points with the ladies. From homemade cards to love coupons to sweet, edible treats, go to everythingetsy.com for 101 amazing and easy ideas.
  • Make a mix tape. It may seem a little 90’s but let’s face it – we are all still suckers for personalized relationship soundtracks. I really like the list that Entertainment Weekly put together of their picks for the 25 best love songs. Get inspired at ew.com.
  • Plan a scavenger hunt with presents hidden along the way. The first time I saw this was when my sister’s boyfriend in college did this for her for. It was their first Valentine’s Day together, and it was so romantic. You could tell he put so much thought into it! He gave her a clue to go to a place on campus that was meaningful to them, and when she got there she found a little gift, with another clue to a different location. After several cute clues and sweet gifts, she found him waiting at the final location. Yes, ladies, it was swoon-worthy. Needless to say, she’s married to him now. Go to mastersofthehunt.com for some ideas and resources to help you plan your own scavenger hunt for your Valentine.

Don’t Celebrate
If you are among the population who doesn’t see February 14th as a better day than any other to practice the art of romance (I’m just going to tell myself that this is what these people think, because it’s a much nicer version than them hating romance and love in general and not wanting anything to do with it) and are wondering what on Earth you’ll do to celebrate the boycotting of Valentine’s Day, here are a few ideas:

  • Find something else to occupy your time. Do something you wouldn’t normally do for yourself or someone else. It’s a great way to take your mind off the holiday and make yourself feel good. Take a look at lite987.com for a list of ideas.
  • Have a slasher movie marathon.  Rather than watch the traditional romantic movies that most couples will be watching on this day, why not watch the complete opposite? Curl up with a good horror movie. Check out rottentomatoes.com for a list of their Top 50 horror movie picks.
  • Unite with fellow boycotters by throwing an Anti-Valentine’s Day themed party.  You and your friends (mostly dudes without girlfriends, no doubt) can come together and watch slasher flicks (see previous bullet), listen to unromantic heavy metal music, play violent video games, etc. Squidoo.com has some tips on how to throw a great Anti-Valentine’s Day party.

In summary, I guess I will never fully understand why some people don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day. In my eyes, love and romance should be something that everyone experiences in their life, and most people do and are experiencing it right now. So I don’t get why someone wouldn’t want to say to their sweetheart, “hey, I love you, and I know you probably know that, but I’m going to tell you again anyway and I’m also going to do something that I don’t do on a day-to-day basis just to make you feel special”.  I think it’s a beautiful and natural thing that brings us all so much happiness, and who couldn’t use a little extra happy?? Even if it is just one day of the year.

Do you celebrate Valentine’s Day? Take the poll below and leave me a comment letting me know why or why not. I’d really like to solve this Valentine’s Day mystery of mine. 😉

2 Responses to “Valentine’s Day: To Celebrate or Not To Celebrate?”

  1. runfordessert February 7, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    I think the husband and I will have a low-key Valentine’s Day. Our first date anniversary is the 10th so we usually do something special for that since it is more important to us. I will probably make a nice meal for V Day since restaurants are usually packed.

    • Mandy February 7, 2012 at 9:51 am #

      Me and my hubby’s first date anniversary is the 18th! We usually do the same thing – nice dinner at home and then go out the weekend after V-day for a nice dinner. Thanks for sharing! 😉

Leave a Reply

