What My Office Would Look Like If I Let My Inner Child Decorate

18 Feb

As a child growing up in the 80’s and 90’s, I had some crazy ideas about what I wanted to be when I grew up. At one point, I wanted to be a marine biologist so I could “swim with the sharks”. I am completely, absolutely, just peed my pants a little bit even thinking about it, terrified of the ocean. So I am still not sure where this career idea came from. Although I suspect it came from my obsession with the movie Free Willy, and that the downfall of this dream came after watching movies like Jaws and Titanic where all the people get eaten by sharks or drown. But there were other dream jobs that didn’t involve living on the edge by being in an underwater cage so I could study a Great White up close and personal. Normal jobs like a veterinarian, a teacher or a librarian. No matter what I wanted to be, I always knew I’d have some sort of office and was really excited by the idea of having a space dedicated to my professionalism with a desk and fun little office supplies to make me feel fancy.

Now that I’m grown up and have my own office (okay so it’s a cubicle but a girl can dream) I still enjoy the idea of my little professional space and like to keep things tidy on my desktop. One of my guilty pleasures are office supplies and anything that will give my desk a little more personality and reflect my style. I like to browse office supply stores for cute items that help make work feel less like work and more like fun.

Lately I’ve been thinking about my childhood hopes and dreams for my future career (and how far I am from them now), and tried to imagine what I thought my office would be like when I was younger. Not very surprisingly, everything that I was in to then, I am still in to now and want for my current office. Here are a few things I found that are on my office supply wish list.

 

Do you think my co-workers would think it were weird if every one of my pencils had a troll on top of it?

With a Kermit phone, every call is an important call.

I would keep all of my important documents in my Lisa Frank folder.

My lunch breaks would be spent with none other than She-Ra, Princess of Power.

Pretty pony paperclips!

Pac-Man Stapler. Need I say more?

A Rainbow Brite mouse pad is so much better than a boring blue one.

And a Hello Kitty mouse to go on it!

I’d write sweet notes on this Sanrio Twin Stars note pad.

Super Mario Bros Push Pins.

80’s Movie Villains Magnets. Totally awesome.


I really think I need to buy some of these items for my office. What are some of your favorite office supplies that you have found? Leave me a link below so I can check them out! I may add them to my wish list!

2 Responses to “What My Office Would Look Like If I Let My Inner Child Decorate”

  1. Jennifer February 18, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    My coworker and I are starting Mustache Monda. I bought some fake ‘staches from Dolla Tree. Gonna be EPIC!

    • Mandy February 18, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

      That sounds awesome! I wish I worked with y’all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

