Character Fashion Inspiration: Inez (Rachel McAdams) from “Midnight in Paris”

20 Feb

I really like movies and the whole art of the film making process. Maybe it’s because I’m a girl, but I can’t help but notice things in movies like a character’s clothes, shoes, make-up and hair. I think it is a huge part of the character development process that most people overlook. What a character is wearing reflects what the film maker is trying to portray of their class, environment, personality and behavior.  And it’s not just with movies, it can be found on the small screen of television, too. Every once in a while I find a character that stands out to me and inspires me on a fashion level. I think to myself, “wouldn’t it be nice to be like her and wear that?”  I bet you have noticed this too and maybe you didn’t even realize it. Remember how characters like Holly Golightly from Breakfast at Tiffany’s made the “little black dress” a staple, Diane Keaton’s Annie Hall showed women how stylish a pant suit could be, Rachel from Friends inspired a 90’s shag hair cut, and Carrie Bradshaw from Sex and the City made every woman want to wear a flirty dress with the perfect heels?

My latest character fashion inspiration came when I recently watched the movie Midnight in Paris. I didn’t really know what the movie was about, but knew it was written and directed by Woody Allen and I like his quirky film style. I also knew it starred two actors that I really like (Rachel McAdams and Owen Wilson), so I figured I’d give it a shot. Watching the movie, I was delighted by the fun and romantic storyline, the beautiful backdrop of Paris and how the film spans two time frames: present day and the 1920’s. When Wilson’s character, Gil, magically travels back in time each night to the roaring 20’s, fashion played a big role. There were flapper dresses, fishnets and lace. But the character who’s fashion really caught my eye and inspired me was Rachel McAdam’s character Inez, Gil’s well-to-do, present day fiancé in the film.

Inez struck me as a very practical woman in the film. She dressed each day for occasion and comfort, but certainly never lost sight of style along the way. Her daytime outfits consisted of skinny jeans with breezy tops or belted shirt dresses with wedge sandals. Anything that suggested casual coolness. This is the look that I fell in love with in the film.

It seems easy enough to recreate, right? Here are some items I found on Polyvore that I thought were suitable replicas for Inez’s look.
Shirt Dress

Tops and Jeans

Wedges and Bags

 

I’ve got spring fever just thinking about all these cute, warm weather outfits! What characters from film or television have inspired your fashion?

4 Responses to “Character Fashion Inspiration: Inez (Rachel McAdams) from “Midnight in Paris””

  1. Cassie February 20, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Oooh! I want every single dress Jennifer Aniston wore in The Breakup. They were all amazing. And I want Meg Ryan’s lip gloss from Kate & Leopold. And most of the clothes Ashley from Revenge wears each week. Wish they listed the labels in the credits!

  2. runfordessert February 23, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    I usually like what Zooey Deschanel wears. My style aspiration is “nerdy, indie chic.” I’ll get there one day!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Character Fashion Inspiration: Allie (Rachel McAdams) from “The Notebook” « Good Girls Inc - April 28, 2012

    […] Rachel gets some of the best gigs in Hollywood in terms of film fashion. Remember her character Inez from Midnight in Paris? Well, in The Notebook Allie is the daughter of a very wealthy family and she obviously gets to go […]

  2. May Lust List | Sledgehammer With Style - May 7, 2013

    […] compilation courtesy of Good Girl Inc.  which has a good breakdown of how to recreate this […]

Leave a Reply

