Red Carpet Review: Oscars 2012

27 Feb

The 84th Annual Academy Awards aired last night and fashion ruled the red carpet, as always. Thankfully, the ladies kept it classy and I didn’t see anything too risky. The men, however, were a different story. I don’t think anyone will soon forget Sacha Baron Cohen walking the carpet dressed as “The Dictator” and pulling the stunt of the night by dumping ashes all over Ryan Seacrest.

Seriously, what do you think is going through that lady on the rights mind right now?

Other than that little fiasco, all eyes were on the beautiful and elegant gowns. I’ll keep this short and sweet and get right down to my top picks of the night.

In my opinion, Jessica Chastain owned the red carpet in a gorgeous black and gold strapless Alexander McQueen gown. She looked beyond elegant, and had on $2 million worth of Harry Winston diamonds (for reals)! She completed her look with soft and subtle make up and her flowing mane was radiant.

Milla Jovovich wore an embellished, white Elie Saab gown and looked ravishing. I thought her look had and “Old Hollywood” feel to it and really played up the glamour. And what better night to be glamorous than Oscar night!?

Another one of my absolute favorites of the night was Octavia Spencer in an extremely flattering platinum Tadashi Shoji gown. She looked amazing! And I was moved to tears when she won her first Oscar for her captivating role as Minny in The Help.

Gwyneth Paltrow kept the white trend on point with her simple white Tom Ford gown with – get this – a matching cape! I love that she took a risk but kept her look sweet and ladylike, as always.

The word “Princess” came to mind when I saw Penelope Cruz in this amazing bluish-gray custom Armani Privé gown.

Cameron Diaz was radiant in a strapless nude Gucci gown. And I absolutely love her fun, short hair cut!

Michelle Williams looked cute as a button in a darling peplum Louis Vuitton gown. Y’all know I love bows and how precious is that little one placed perfectly right on her hip!?  Honestly, when does Michelle Williams not look like perfection?

There were some others that I liked, but these ladies took the cake for me. Okay those are my top picks on the red carpet for the Oscars, and that’s a wrap for the 2012 awards season! Until next year…

Tell me, who did you like best?

11 Responses to “Red Carpet Review: Oscars 2012”

  1. LynaTrina February 27, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Reblogged this on Lyna Trina and commented:
    Ahaha I don’t know why that guy carried it with him.

    • Mandy February 27, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

      Thanks for reblogging! 🙂
      I don’t know what he was thinking, but apparently it worked because everyone is talking about it!

      • LynaTrina February 28, 2012 at 5:16 am #

        yeah he made such a controversy:)

  2. runfordessert February 28, 2012 at 6:22 am #

    Jessica Chastain was absolutely gorgeous and I loved her in The Help.

    • Mandy February 28, 2012 at 9:38 am #

      Me too! I just finished the book last Sat and finally watched the movie. Minny and Miss Celia were my favorite characters and I thought both actresses did a really good job portraying them. I may do a blog post on the book! 😉

  3. Jen @ A Touch of Lovely February 29, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    Love all of your picks– and the white trend! So fresh!

  4. nicole.b March 7, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

    jessica and octavia were my two personal faves! but loved jessica’s entire ensemble x
    [makeup from mark., by the way… teehee (;]
    x

    • Mandy March 8, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      Well the mark makeup definitely worked for her! She looked stunning! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Oscar’s Gown Picks « momsterteacher - February 29, 2012

    […] Red Carpet Review: Oscars 2012 (goodgirlsinc.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Unforgettable Oscar Red Carpet Moments | Good Girls Inc - February 24, 2013

    […] Red Carpet Review: Oscars 2012 […]

Leave a Reply

