Countdown to “The Hunger Games”

12 Mar

Like most of the American population, I have become obsessed with The Hunger Games. And who am I kidding? It’s not just America, it’s a world-wide obsession at this point. All of my close friends had already read the books, as well as my husband (yes, my husband read The Hunger Games before I did) and they kept telling me how much they loved the series and thought I would, too. I finally buckled under the pressure and read all three books, and I absolutely loved them.

It was so nice for once to see a female protagonist who was so strong and assertive; someone who didn’t need others constantly coming to her rescue. In fact, Katniss Everdeen did most of the rescuing herself in The Hunger Games. When facing situations where every fiber in her being told her she should run screaming, she instead reminded herself what was at stake and ran head-first into them. And of course I got caught up in the love triangle between Katniss, Peeta and Gale (there’s always a love triangle, isn’t there?)! The first movie comes out on March 23 and I am literally counting down the days! I think I really like the actors they’ve chosen. It looks promising, don’t you think?

Stay tuned for more upcoming Hunger Games posts! Are you as addicted as I am?

4 Responses to “Countdown to “The Hunger Games””

  1. Cassie March 12, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    Cannot wait!!!! They better do some convincing girl-on-fire special effects!

    • Mandy March 13, 2012 at 11:45 am #

      For real, girl. Remember how horrible the special effects were in Twilight? REALLY hoping they have a better budget for this movie than they did for that one! I think we’ll be pleased though! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why is Mary so obsessed with the Hunger Games? | CS Eagles - March 13, 2012

    […] Countdown to “The Hunger Games”(goodgirlsinc.wordpress.com […]

  2. “The Hunger Games” World Premiere « Good Girls Inc - March 13, 2012

    […] Countdown to “The Hunger Games” (goodgirlsinc.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

