Spring Outdoor Activities

20 Mar

Happy Spring!

Spring has officially sprung, and it sure feels like it where I am down here in Alabama. We have had beautiful warm, sunny days and I’ve really enjoyed being outdoors the past few weeks. Our summers are usually sweltering hot and last well into the Fall months, so we welcome springtime around here with open arms. It is an opportunity to thaw out from several months of being cold down to your bones, and there’s a “new” feeling in the air that makes me feel like anything is possible. I always get sort of a jump-start in Spring and find myself wanting to start several projects (how many said projects I actually finish is a different story, however). While Fall is my favorite season, there are many things about Spring that I look forward to and most of them involve being outdoors. Here are some of the things about Spring that I am most looking forward to enjoying in the coming weeks, accompanied by some photos I took last Spring of these very things.

Longer Days. This means that when I get home from work, there will still be several hours of daylight left, allowing me to do one of my favorite Spring activities: what I like to call “backyard sitting”. This involves me grabbing a beer or a big glass of wine with my camera and two cats in tow, and sitting in the fading daylight, just listening to the outside sounds and breathing in the fresh air.  There is something to be said about springtime dusk in the South. It’s extremely relaxing.

My cat talking to me in the backyard.

Sunlight through the trees in my backyard.

Farmers Market. We have a wonderful Farmers Market in my town that starts up each Spring. It happens every Saturday morning in the heart of downtown and is where can you find locally grown fresh vegetables, honey, wine, pasta, handcrafted soaps, art, jewelry, and so much more. When the weather is nice, it is a wonderful way to start the weekend. My husband and I always look forward to Saturday morning strolls through the Market, followed by a big breakfast at one of our favorite downtown cafe’s. And not to mention a huge meal that evening of fresh veggies and other finds from the Market!

Saturday morning Farmers Market in Mobile, AL

Fresh Silver King corn, peppers and green tomatoes at the Farmers Market in Mobile, AL.

Saturday morning Farmers Market in Mobile, AL

Yard Work. Most people see having to do yard work as a chore, but not me. I look forward with anticipation to spending a weekend outdoors cutting the grass, trips to the local garden center for new plants, planting flowers and planning a garden.  There’s just something about sinking your hands into the dirt that is so exhilarating!

Some of last year's Spring flowers.

One of last year's zinnias.

Outdoor Photography. Photography is my biggest hobby.  I used to dream of becoming a National Geographic photographer, and although that never happened and I don’t take pictures professionally, I still see it as a creative outlet and do it just for fun. One of my favorite ways to pass time is to strap on my camera and go “exploring” outdoors. I’d much rather take pictures of landscapes than portraits, and the outdoors provide so many interesting subjects for a camera lens. Take a good look around next time you are in your backyard, driving in your car, or strolling down the sidewalks of your town. Art can be found in some of the most unsuspecting items, if you just look at it from a different perspective.  And what better time to be outdoors than right now?!

A bit of twine naturally wrapped around a branch in my backyard.

A fisherman throws his net off the Fairhope pier.

A little lizard sunbathes on top of a statue in the gardens of Cathedral Square in downtown Mobile, AL.

What are some of your favorite things about Spring, whether they involve being outdoors or not?

3 Responses to “Spring Outdoor Activities”

  1. wearehammonds March 21, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    you hit on two of my favorite spring activities as well! ‘Backyard sitting’ and the farmers market are tops in my book!!

    • Mandy March 21, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      Yes! It’s like “porch sitting” but in the backyard instead! I guess it’s a Southern thing! 😉

  2. runfordessert March 21, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    Our farmer’s market starts up next weekend and I can’t wait to get some fresh veggies. David and I will definitely be spending some quality time on the front porch swing and enjoying the nice weather. Also, running is great this time of year before it gets up in the 90s!

Leave a Reply

