Five Tips For A Happy Marriage

4 May

I recently came across this video on the internet and was captivated by the sweetness of the little elderly couple in the video. I found myself nodding in agreement, laughing out loud, and even crying a little bit. They have been married for 72 years and made this video as a wedding toast to someone they know. In the video, they give the newlyweds some good advice that they claim has helped their marriage last so long, and it’s clear they are still very much in love. Here are their “5 tips to a long and healthy marriage”.

See what I mean!? They are precious! I got to wondering after watching this what it must be like to be married to someone for 72 years. I mean, 72 years, y’all. That’s longer than some people even live. My husband and I have only been married for five years (take a stroll down memory lane with some of our wedding photos, here) so we still have a long way to go to get to 72 years. We have had our ups and downs along the way (mostly ups!), and have learned a lot so far. The way I see it, a happy marriage is something you constantly have to work at; it’s not something that people just have, like in the movies. So, for what it’s worth, here are my 5 tips to a long and healthy marriage – based on my whopping 5 years of experience!

  1. Make your spouse your best friend. I can honestly say that my husband is my best friend. I can tell him anything, can be myself completely with him and can even laugh so hard I shoot food out of my nose in his presence and not get embarrassed. Now that is true love!
  2. Communication is key. I have found that even when I’m so mad I could spit fire at my husband, it is always better to yell talk it out with him. The only way to find out how to settle an argument is to find out what it stemmed from, how it can be resolved and how to prevent it from happening again in the future.
  3. Make time for a date night. I have had some people sort of make fun of the fact that my husband and I still have “date nights” and I just don’t get it. We honestly enjoy being in each other’s company and I think it’s important to slow down and make time for  a little fun in the midst of all the stresses of everyday life.
  4. Do nice things for each other. Remember when you just started dating and you did nice things for each other like brought her flowers, or baked him cookies – just because?? Well, it’s not just for dating! Show the love by leaving little notes, cooking a favorite meal or simply picking up a special treat in the grocery store for your spouse.
  5. Share a kiss more often than once every 25 years! (This one I learned from Kenny & Selma.)

It will be interesting to look back on this blog post several years from now when we (hopefully) have children and things are much more complex than they are for us right now!  I can’t wait to see what is in store for us and hope to make a video similar to Kenny and Selma’s one day.

What advice do you have for a happy marriage?

6 Responses to “Five Tips For A Happy Marriage”

  1. Because I Saw It On Pinterest May 4, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    I hope you know that when I bug you about your date nights, it’s because I’m living vicariously through you!! I love to hear all about your outfit and what you ate for dinner!

    • Mandy May 5, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      No, you never bug me about them! You are not one of the people I was referring to, believe me! 😉 I love hearing about you and your hubby’s date nights, too!

  2. weelilwimsy May 5, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Omg, love that couple!!! I think any man will tell you the final tip to a long marriage is….just agree with her 🙂 very cute post. Btw, I’m kinda scatterbrained and can’t remember if I told u about the Liebster Blog award or if you just saw it….either way, enjoy it if you like that sorta thing. I know some do and some don’t. Cheers!

    • Mandy May 5, 2012 at 10:57 am #

      Thank you! I actually saw it on your blog yesterday when you posted it. I definitely enjoy being recognized by such an awesome female fellow-blogger and will work on my award post this weekend! 🙂

      • weelilwimsy May 5, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

        Yay! Can’t wait to see it 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe For a Happy Marriage - Jessica Alba | Keys To Happy Marriage - May 6, 2012

    […] Five Tips For A Happy Marriage(goodgirlsinc.wordpress.com) Thank you for reading, hope you have discovered Jessica alba’s secret recipe for a happy marriage. Filed Under: Marriage Advice, Marriage News Tagged With: happy marriage, Jessica Alba, make happy marriage, Romance, sin city actress […]

Leave a Reply

