Bucket Lists

18 May

You know how people say “I want to do that before I die” or “Before I die I want to go there”? I’m one of those people. I find myself saying that all the time and recently wondered to myself if I will actually ever really do any of those things that I want to before I die. I was advised by someone this week at work to write down my goals and put it on my office wall or some place where I can see it everyday as a constant reminder of what I hope to accomplish in life. Also this week I watched my best friend lose someone very dear to her; someone much too young to leave this Earth so soon. With both of those things on my mind I decided it’s time to get serious about my hopes, dreams and happiness. I officially created a bucket list.

It’s so easy to get caught up in the day-to-day grind and lose sight of our own happiness. What better way to ensure you are living life to the fullest than by identifying what you know will bring you joy, and then putting them on the ultimate “To Do List”? It’s brilliant, and I can’t believe I never had a bucket list until now! When I created mine, I realized a lot of the things on it are going to cost a lot of money (like traveling to the UK – particularly Scotland, Ireland and London) and aren’t going to happen overnight. But they’re things that I can save up for and work towards over time. I think that by officially putting them on my bucket list, I will be more likely to make them become a reality – much like the advice of hanging them on the wall where you can see them everyday. Once I really started thinking about what to put on my list I discovered some things that I didn’t even know were that important to me, like growing my own vegetable garden. I was also surprised by how achievable a lot of them are.

Here are  just a few of the things I have added to my list:

  • Go to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Orlando (I realize that by identifying this as a life goal this makes me a huge nerd, but I don’t care)
  • Travel to Scotland, Ireland and London
  • Have a baby…maybe two
  • Write a book
  • Grow and maintain an organic vegetable garden
  • Attend Comic-Con in San Diego

The more I think about these, the more I want to make them happen. I am really looking forward to checking them off my list! My husband and I are going to post our bucket lists someplace where we can see them daily, so we can constantly work on making them a reality.

Do you have a bucket list? Leave me a comment below and tell me something that’s on your list! 

6 Responses to “Bucket Lists”

  1. Leonard Marks July 18, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    great post

    • Mandy July 19, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

      Thanks, Leonard!

  2. Lilian July 4, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back in the future. Cheers

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Though I can not go back I can go forward and live life to the fullest | Transient Reflections - May 19, 2012

    […] Bucket Lists (goodgirlsinc.wordpress.com) […]

  2. One big tick in my 2012 bucket list | Dreams, photos & travels - May 20, 2012

    […] Bucket Lists (goodgirlsinc.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Bucket List Check Off: Visiting The Wizarding World of Harry Potter « Good Girls Inc - July 10, 2012

    […] have many destinations on our “places to go before we die” lists. Remember my recent post on bucket lists and what was on mine? Well I can now check off something on my list having recently vacationed at […]

Leave a Reply

