Comic-Con Fashion

29 Jul

July has come and gone and once again, so has another Comic-Con that I did not attend. Comic-Con is a 4 day convention exhibiting all things comic book, science fiction, horror, and related pop culture in film/television, novels and video games. It’s held every July in San Diego and I’d really like to experience it in my life (you may remember this showing up on my recent Bucket List post). I wouldn’t say I’m a huge comic book nerd or anything, but I probably do enjoy super heroes and zombies a little more than the average person. The idea of going to a 4 day convention celebrating these things where almost everyone is dressed up like it’s Halloween sounds absolutely fantastic to me. So maybe that does make me a huge nerd, after all.

Another really great thing about Comic-Con is the celebrity presence. Actors, directors and writers attend to represent their film or show, and the public are welcome to attend panels where they can get up close and personal with celebrities to hear them talk about their work, and possibly even meet and get an autograph. What people may not realize though, is that Comic-Con is as much for the actors as it is for the fans. Celebrities have been known to put on a costume and walk around the convention floor along with the public, completely disguised.

Although dressing up is not required to attend Comic-Con, if you’re gonna go you might as well go all out. I love watching the coverage every year and seeing some of the completely insane creative outfits people show up in – a lot of them homemade. Here are some of the highlights from the 2012 Comic-Con a few weeks ago.

Doesn’t that look like fun!? One day I will attend. Oh yes, it will happen. Until then, I’ll try to think of a creative costume.

What would you wear to Comic-Con? 

Leave a Reply

