DIY Project: Simple (And Cheap!) Fall Decor

12 Sep

September is finally here and that means that it is officially okay for me to start putting up some Fall decorations at my house. I love Fall and everything about it – warm autumn colors, crisp, cool air, cozy Fall sweaters, and sipping pumpkin spiced latte or apple cider. Even though the weather hasn’t exactly cooled off much where I live on the Gulf Coast that’s not going to stop me from bringing the outdoors in with some festive Fall decorating. I have recently become a Pinterest junkie (took me long enough, right?) and have been pinning lots of seasonal and holiday DIY projects that I hope to try out this year. My goal is to hand-make crafts using items that I might already have laying around the house, or that I can buy at a low price from local stores. This past weekend I got started with a few projects, which I’m sharing with you below.

On Friday morning while I was at work, I checked my personal inbox (hey everyone needs a break every now and then) and saw a new post from Jen at Cuddles and Chaos, which thoroughly distracted me from my work that I should have been doing (thanks, Jen!). She made these really cute spray painted silver pumpkins that looked like something you’d find at Pier 1. Check out her post here. She found the pumpkins at a dollar store, and it inspired me so much that I ran over to the nearby dollar store on my lunch break and found a pumpkin of my own to make all Fall-tastick. Here’s how mine turned out…

I already had the can of silver spray paint left over from a previous home improvement project, but you can find this at Lowe’s for $5.98 a bottle.

Next up, I wanted to make an acorn filled candle votive thanks to this lovely pin on my Pinterest Fall board.

Here’s what you will need:

I already had the votive and candle at my house (wedding leftovers, I believe) and collected the acorns from my own backyard. Be sure to rinse the acorns and let them dry completely.

Lastly, I tried another Pinterest inspired project. This one is simple and lovely – a Mason jar filled with natural wheat.

I decided to add some twine to mine instead of the ribbon shown in the picture above. Again, I already had the jars and some twine at home, so I just had to buy the wheat at a nearby craft store. You can find it in the floral section for around $5 a bushel.

I think all three projects make great accents for a living room or kitchen and love how inexpensive they were to create! Also love how they bring a little bit of nature inside my home. Here they all are in their new spots around my house.

What do you think? Are there any Fall DIY crafts that you are going to create this year?

7 Responses to “DIY Project: Simple (And Cheap!) Fall Decor”

  1. torijohnson5 September 13, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    Some really cute ideas! I’m inspired to decorate now!

    • Mandy September 13, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

      Thank you! I’m so glad I inspired someone else. Let me know if you try any of these projects and how they turn out! 🙂

  2. Jen @ Cuddles & Chaos September 17, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Super cute! I love how they came out. I have to hunt around my yard for some acorns. I love the acorn votive idea!

    • Mandy September 17, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

      Thanks! I like the acorn votive the best, and it was the easiest! Good luck, let me know how it turns out if you end up making one.

  3. thefirstdark September 18, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    Reblogged this on The Darkness in the Light.

    • Mandy October 8, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      Thanks, Porsha 🙂

  4. Alex's Journeys November 12, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    Hi! I would love to provide a DIY for fall and holidays. Please let me know if you are interested in a guest post for your blog, and maybe you could do one for mine??? alexandra.jacobs.10@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

