Why I Love October

8 Oct

October is my favorite month, but not just because it’s my birthday month (I shouldn’t get so excited about that anymore seeing as I’m becoming an old woman and all). October means Halloween, which is my favorite holiday next to Christmas. Growing up, Halloween was always a big deal in my house. We always decorated, went all out with our Halloween costumes, and trick-or-treating was like, the most fun thing ever. But it also meant that right after Halloween we’d get Thanksgiving where I got to gather with all of my cousins, aunt, uncles, grandparents and just pig out. Then of course it is right on to the most wonderful time of the year – Christmas! Yes, October means the start of something wonderful in my world.

So, it’s no surprise that I’ve already started celebrating Halloween! The house is decorated, I have begun my annual scary movie marathon, and pumpkin carving ideas are underway. And to keep you guys in the Halloween spirit, too, I plan on posting Halloween related material all month such as: 1) my top 10 scary movies to watch at Halloween, 2) cool pumpkin carving designs, and of course 3) great costume ideas.

Be sure to check back, and let me know what Halloween traditions you have in your family!  

Happy October!

4 Responses to “Why I Love October”

  1. Because I Saw It On Pinterest October 8, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    Yeah, we have a Halloween tree…not ashamed. It will turn into a Thanksgiving tree the first day of November and a Christmas tree Thanksgiving night. It’s pretty amazing.

    • Mandy October 8, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

      That sounds magical!

  2. Don and carol October 10, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    While I am a 62yr. old I have fond memories of me and my 2 older brothers. Running wildly from house to house. Their usually was a halloween party to go to with bobbin apples, and yummy popcorn balls, candy apples, Kraft caramels, their my favorite, and candy corn just to name a few. Our costumes were usually hand made. One time I can remember I was a ghost made out of a white sheet. The neighborhood would come alive and sometimes we would have a hayride.. Fun times and to this day I get to watch my grown children yes grown, have the best times of their lives living and laughing.

    • Mandy October 14, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

      That all sounds so fun! Thank you for always making Halloween and all holidays special for us, Mama.

Leave a Reply

