Quick Chick Flick: “P.S. I Love You”

7 Nov

As you probably know already, I am a sucker for a good chick flick. I will stop everything and sit down to watch a good movie (which I have already seen like five times) that makes me bawl my eyes out like a crazy person, knowing I am just going to end up bawling again if I watch it. This very thing happened to me this past Sunday afternoon. I had a list of things I needed to do and had a firm plan of action, but when I noticed that P.S. I Love You was coming on in the background, all my plans flew out the window. Two hours and half a box of Kleenex later I finally got around to starting my day. Here’s my quick review of this wonderful chick flick.


If you haven’t seen P.S. I Love You, I highly recommend it. It’s a great story about life, relationships and a wonderful lesson on not taking the people you love for granted.  Holly (Hillary Swank) is married to Gerry (Gerard Butler), an extremely hot Irish man and they are living the dream in New York City. They have everything anyone could ever want – a great apartment in the city, good friends, a fun social life, and each other. But that is not enough for Holly and we find out within the first ten minutes of the film she is struggling with finding out what to do with her life. She wants to have a baby but thinks they need to live in a better place to raise a family, she is not happy with her current job and she hasn’t figured out what she wants to do with her career.  Sound like some of the things we stress about, girls? Gerry proceeds to cheer his wife up by saying all the right things and even dancing a little jig for her in his boxers (drool), making us love him that much more.


Fast forward to several months later and everyone is gathering at a wake… Gerry’s wake. I know, right?? Cue the tears. Sadly, our beloved Gerry has passed away from a brain tumor, and of course Holly is absolutely devastated. She spends weeks alone in their apartment doing things like calling his cell phone just to hear his voice on the outgoing message, smelling his clothes in the closet and wearing his shirts and boxers. I’m going to warn you, it’s really sad and is a harsh reminder that anyone can be gone in the blink of an eye, even the ones we love most. But on her 30th birthday when all of her friends come over and surprise her, Holly receives an unexpected gift: a letter from Gerry.

He wrote her the letter before he died and in it tells her he wants her to get all dolled up and go out with her girlfriends to celebrate her dirty thirty in style. He also tells her that she will receive another letter the next day. And, just as he promised, she starts receiving letters from Gerry regularly with assignments, if you will, of things that he wants her to do. He even planned and made arrangements for her and her friends to travel to Ireland, where they first met and fell in love. As she reads each letter and carries out Gerry’s wishes for her, she reflects on their life together and begins to come to terms with her loss.

The letters are Gerry’s last gift to Holly, helping her cope, heal and even find herself along the way. Watching the movie, you are taken on an emotional roller coaster as you laugh out loud and cry, of course. (Oh come on, who doesn’t love a good cry every now and then?) P.S. I Love You is one of my favorite movies, and always makes me try to imagine myself in Holly’s shoes for just a minute, wondering how in the world I would survive if something like that happened to me. It leaves me feeling thankful for the people I love and reminds me to cherish the time I have with them. And that’s a good thing to be reminded every now and then.

What movies make you cry every time you watch them? Do you have any favorite chick flicks? 

2 Responses to “Quick Chick Flick: “P.S. I Love You””

  1. Jen @ Cuddles and Chaos November 7, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    This is another one that I haven’t seen! I love a good chick flick so I know I have to check it out!!!

    • Mandy November 8, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

      Yes, definitely add it to your to-see list! Hope you like it as much as I do. Stay warm, heard y’all got some snow up there!

Leave a Reply

