So Long, 2012 – My Year In Pictures

31 Dec

Well, 2012 is just about over and now is the time to  reflect on the past year. I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and hopefully enjoyed some time with family and dear friends, celebrating old traditions and making new memories. Today I have been reflecting on 2012, and put together a little post celebrating my year in pictures. Enjoy!

My husband and I spent New Year’s Eve 2011 in Gatlinburg, TN. We rang in 2012 downtown in twenty degree weather with about 10,000 other people, and enjoyed an impressive fireworks display. In February, we celebrated Valentine’s Day (of course!). My sweetie had a beautiful bouquet of red roses delivered to me at work, and when I came home I had lots of treats and sweets waiting for me. I’m one lucky gal!

January February

In March my husband and I celebrated 5 years of marriage! After eating at our favorite restaurant for dinner, we went to see the symphony perform songs by Pink Floyd in an amazing music and laser lights show. Also that month, after many months of anticipation and excitement, I finally got to see The Hunger Games! I also took some silly pictures in weird hats, apparently. April brought Spring Fever and many afternoons spent sitting in my backyard, or visiting the local botanical gardens to see all the flowers in bloom. I also got to spend some time with my bestie!

March April

In May we celebrated my Mom’s birthday and Mother’s Day by throwing her a “fiesta” at my house. My Spring Fever continued and I spent a lot of time outdoors that month. June was probably the busiest month of the year for me. My sister, two nephews and brother-in-law came down to visit for a week, and I spent a lot of time hanging out with them. We celebrated my sister and my dads birthdays, as well as Father’s Day. We also travelled to Huntsville, AL to visit my in-laws. And sadly, tragedy rocked my little world with the news of the very sudden death of a dear friend from college. I gathered with friends and sorority sisters to attend her funeral, and we all went to lunch afterwards to share memories and celebrate her life.

May June

July brought the most fun thing about 2012 for me and my husband – a trip to Universal Orlando! This year I decided to get serious about checking things off my bucket list, and one of them was to visit The Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal (yes, I’m a nerd). We had the best time ever! I got to tour Hogwarts and Hogsmeade Village, drink a Butterbeer, and fly with Harry on a broomstick. It was kind of amazing. We also really enjoyed the Jurassic Park and Marvel exhibits there. In August, I attended a birthday party for my best friend’s little girl, hung out with my kitty, Gus, and acted silly with my mama.

July August

In September I went home to Tennessee to visit my family and some good friends. It was so great to get to see my sister and her kids, and one of my oldest and best friends, Anna. Also in September, my husband and I enjoyed our last beach day of the year – soaking up some sun and sipping on a cold one. Then it was on to October, my most favorite month of the year! Not only is it my birthday month, but also brings my favorite season, Fall, and Halloween! I spent my birthday with my hubby, who got me the most amazing birthday daisy bouquet! We also carved pumpkins and I finally started to see the first signs of Fall.

September October

November brought Thanksgiving at my parent’s house where we ate lots of my mama’s home cooked, delicious food. It also meant the final Twilight movie, Breaking Dawn Part 2. Of course my BFF and I went to see it, and here is our reaction to the ending of the series. Pretty classic. And finally, December. It has been a wonderful month – I’ve had two weeks off of work and have been able to truly relax and enjoy the season.

November December

I hope you all had a fantastic 2012, and wish you many blessings in 2013.

Here’s to the New Year! 

Leave a Reply

