The 10 Best Super Bowl Commercials of 2013

5 Feb

taco-bell

A few nights ago the world watched as two teams battled it out in the dark on the field, Beyoncé rocked our worlds (I mean, WOW. Thank you, Beyoncé for brining an all woman show to the Super Bowl halftime. Can I get a “girl power?!) and companies spent millions of dollars to try to get you to buy their products. People are still talking about many of the Super Bowl commercial highs and lows and debating which were the best. Well, as you may remember from my post last year, pretty much the only two reasons I’ll tune in to a football game are to see big production ads and halftime entertainment. This year, neither let me down. Here are my picks (in order) for the ten best commercials of the 2013 Super Bowl.

#1. Budweiser – The Clydesdales: “Brotherhood”

This was my absolute favorite ad of the night. The fact that I love horses helped win me over but in the end, any commercial that can bring me to tears is a very well done ad. When that horse came running down the street to his original owner and stopped and hugged him… yep, I lost it. I just watched it below and lost it again.

#2. Dodge – God Made A Farmer

I loved that you didn’t know what this was advertising until the very end, it was a great way to keep the viewer on the edge of their seat. Combine that with breathtaking photography, cinematography and a timeless broadcast by Paul Harvey, and you’ve got yourself one beautiful ad. Kudos, Dodge.

#3. Jeep – Whole Again

Well, it doesn’t get more relevant than this ad for our nation right now – families trying to live their lives while their loved ones fight for our freedom overseas, and joyously welcoming them home. I think every American could relate to this ad. Another tear-jerker for sure.

#4. Oreo – Whisper Fight

This was the funniest ad of the night for me. I LOL’d so hard. The fact that everyone was fighting but still insisted on whispering because they were in the library was hilarious. Especially when the firemen and cops showed up and whispered “FIRE!” and “We’re the cops!” (hahaha still laughing)

#5. Milk – Morning Run

The Milk commercial was a big budget action ad starring Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson as a dad who jumps through hoops to get his little girls some milk for their morning cereal. This one was exciting and fun to watch.

#6. Kia Sorento – Space Babies

You can’t go wrong with babies and baby animals in a commercial. Throw both in your ad and it’s destined to succeed. The Kia Sorento commercial showed a very elaborate and humorous explanation to the classic child’s question “Where do babies come from?” complete with a baby planet and space babies.

#7. Taco Bell – Viva Young

Taco Bell scored points with the youth of America (no doubt their primary target audience) with their epic portrayal of what really happens after light’s out at the retirement community. I love how after a late night of partying they all go for Taco Bell – because we’ve all been there dozens of a few times.

#8. Best Buy – Asking Amy

When funny lady Amy Poehler goes to Best Buy, she asks A LOT of questions and really puts the Geek Squad to work. This was another hilarious one that I’ll be laughing about for a while.

#9. Mercedes-Benz – Soul

In this ad a young man comes face to face with the Devil, played by the creeptastic Willem Dafoe, and gets a glimpse at what all is in store for him if he sells his soul for a Benz. The New Orleans setting and Rolling Stones song give it a cool “Interview With the Vampire” feel.

#10. Volkswagen – Get In. Get Happy.

The VW commercial was so fun and lighthearted that it made me want to go out and buy myself a Bug so I can roll up in to work everyday as happy as a Jamaican on a sunny summer day!!

There were so many commercials that I enjoyed, but these were the 10 that really stuck with me after the big game.

Which were your favorite 2013 Super Bowl commercials? Which ones were your least favorite? 

One Response to “The 10 Best Super Bowl Commercials of 2013”

  1. Because I Saw It On Pinterest February 5, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

    Oh my goodness. The Jeep commercial was my favorite. Tears!!!

Leave a Reply

