Character Fashion Inspiration: Comic Book Characters

9 Mar

So we’ve already established that I have a nerdy side (see examples 1, 2 and 3) but I also really enjoy fashion and other girly things. A thought crossed my mind the other day and I about fell out of my chair: Why not do a Character Fashion Inspiration post based on comic book characters!? How I did not think of this sooner is beyond me. Think about it, comic books are filled with color and artistry, and superhero costumes are so sleek and stylish… all things that inspire fashion. There have been many cases where superhero art has inspired runway fashion and The Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC even held an exhibit on this subject in 2008.

super_hero_by_psyshark-d4ddta0

So, which character do I cover? There are so many directions I could go and I’m thinking there will have to be multiple posts on different characters. A few of my favorites that I am having fashion ideas for at the moment are The Hulk, Batman, Dr. Who, Poison Ivy and Iron Man. Let’s start with my all-time favorite male superhero…

Superman!

Superman

Superman is an American icon who was created in 1932 and first appeared in comics in 1938. It is said he stands for  justice, morality and righteousness and has developed to a hero seen not only in comics but also in movies, television, video games and on merchandising worldwide. So, he’s pretty much The Man, y’all.

When I think Superman the colors red and blue immediately come to mind. But let’s not forget that he is also the Man of Steel, and the new movie of that same title coming to theaters this June will focus more on the “steel” aspect of Superman. From the trailers I’ve seen (which are ah-mazing, by the way – go here to see the latest) this new Superman costume is going to be more of a dark red and blue color. So I’ll do both a more traditional Superman outfit and a modern Man of Steel inspired one. Here we go…

Character Fashion Inspiration: Superman
 
Character Fashion Inspiration: Man of Steel

What do you think? I would wear either of these but like the navy pinstripe dress and those maroon booties the best!

Which comic characters can you imagine fashion inspiration coming from?

4 Responses to “Character Fashion Inspiration: Comic Book Characters”

  1. Because I Saw It On Pinterest March 10, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

    Yes!!! Yes to both of those outfits! Amazing. These types of posts always make me wonder why I don’t own boldly colored nail polish. Please take me to Sephora right away!

    • Mandy March 12, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      You know I would if I could! Or Ulta…I could spend hours in there.

  2. Jennifer Garry (@jennifergarry) March 13, 2013 at 10:30 am #

    Love this! It’s so fun. I’m particularly loving the navy/maroon palette, although cobalt/red/yellow is so fun and springy!

    • Mandy March 13, 2013 at 5:50 pm #

      Thanks, Jenn! Yes the navy/maroon palette is more practical but the red/blue/yellow is just so much more fun. Decisions, decisions…

Leave a Reply

