Character Fashion Inspiration: Catwoman

9 Apr

In the second installment of my Comic Book themed Character Fashion Inspiration (click here for Superman inspired fashion), I decided to cover Catwoman. I chose this character for several reasons – she’s an extremely well-known character in both comics and movies, she’s got wicked style, and I might be a little obsessed with cats.

Catwoman originally appeared in 1940 in the first issue of DC Comics’ Batman as “The Cat”, the alter ego of Selina Kyle, a whip carrying burglar (get it, The Cat…cat burglar, see what they did there?). A popular villain, she and Batman have exhibited a love/hate relationship over the decades, and she is one of the most widely recognized female comic characters. Her costume has evolved over time from just a mask to a dress with a hood and ears, and eventually to a full-on sexy catsuit.

Catwoman

The original Catwoman, circa 1940’s

Catwoman

Our more modern Catwoman appearing in comics from 1993-present

Catwoman hasn’t just appeared in comics, though. She appeared in the television series Batman from 1966-1968, and reappeared in 1992 in Tim Burton’s classic, Batman Returns. In 2004 the movie Catwoman introduced a new character named Patience who is killed and brought back to life by an Egyptian cat, after which she develops strange, cat-like qualities. This movie was more of a spin-off of the Catwoman character, and was not directly associated with DC Comics. Finally, our most recent Catwoman came in the form of Anne Hathaway in Christopher Nolan’s brilliant film The Dark Knight Rises, just last year.

Catwomen

1) Anne Hathaway in The Dark Knight Rises (2012) 2) Halle Berry in Catwoman (2004) 3) Michelle Pfeiffer in Batman Returns (1992)

For this post I want to focus on the film costumes for Catwoman, like the ones above – dark, sexy and lots of leather. I think these are all things most people associate with Catwoman’s style. Here’s what I would choose for a daytime outing and a fancy dinner affair if I were Selina Kyle.

Character Fashion Inspiration - Catwoman
Character Fashion Inspiration - Catwoman
Character Fashion Inspiration - Catwoman
I adore those Charlotte Olympia kitty heels. That’s my favorite outfit, by far!
Which one is your favorite? Would you wear a Catwoman inspired outfit? 
4 Responses to “Character Fashion Inspiration: Catwoman”

  1. runfordessert April 19, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    I think I would wear a Catwoman inspired outfit. I love cat-eye glasses, they are a classic!

    • Mandy April 19, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

      Me too, Anna! I am thinking about getting some cat-eyeish/Lisa Loeb glasses. I love them!

  2. Jennifer Garry (@jennifergarry) April 25, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    My husband still holds a soft spot in his heart for Michelle Pfeiffer’s Catwoman. I’m pretty sure he would approve of this kind of wardrobe inspiration 😉

    • Mandy April 29, 2013 at 9:26 am #

      Lol, yes I think most men would approve! 😉

Leave a Reply

