Easy DIY Spring Wreath

12 Apr

Since my obsession with Pinterest began sometime last year, I have become a bit of a junkie for DIY home decor and such. This includes wreaths for my front door. In the Fall I made one (that didn’t turn out quite as well as I would have liked) and since Spring is in full effect here in the Gulf Coast, I decided I’d better do another one to brighten up the front of my house. In addition to some potted flowers, a garden flag and a few luscious palms, I like to keep a wreath on my door to add a little color and curb appeal to my humble abode.

Naturally the first place I turned for Spring wreath inspiration was Pinterest! I’m a hydrangea lover, so when I came across the one below, I was sold!

Spring Wreath

I also really loved the fact that it looked very simple to create myself. So, I set off to my local Hobby Lobby with my Pinterest app ready to roll on my phone for reference. It wasn’t hard to find the materials for my creation and I only spent around $35. (Have you seen how much already-made wreaths are at the crafts stores?? Like $80. That’s ridonk.) My husband and I are big fans of the color blue so I decided to use blue flowers instead of purple.

Here’s what you’ll need to create this beautiful Spring wreath:

Spring Wreath Supplies

Wicker Wreath – $6
Cream Hydrangea Silk Flowers – $8 each
Blue Hydrangea Flower bundle – $7
Wooden Craft Letter – $2
Floral Wire – $2.50
Roll of Burlap – $8 (optional – I wrapped some around the top of mine to hang it)
Paint (not pictured – I used some leftover sample paint from Lowe’s that cost $5)

As far as tools, you’ll need wire cutters, scissors and a glue gun.

Spring Wreath Tools

First, cut the stems off of your flowers, but be sure to leave a little bit of the stem so you can stick it in the wicker wreath.  Arrange them on the wreath how you like them.  Next, cut off  some floral wire and use it to secure the flower to the wreath.  Do this by wrapping the wire around the wreath and through the flower several times.

Spring Wreath Flower

Attaching flower to wreath

Once your flowers are in place it’s time to paint your letter and attach it. Yay, you’re halfway done already! Told you this was easy. In a well ventilated area and on a paint-proof surface paint your letter and allow it to completely dry.

Painted Letter for Spring Wreath

When your letter is dry, attach it to the wreath using your glue gun.  Position the letter and spread glue on some of the larger twigs that touch the letter.  Let it dry for a few hours.

DSC_0060

Finally, wrap the burlap around the top of the wreath twice and then tie it in a knot, leaving some length on the ends to dangle.

DSC_00592

All done!! Now go hang it on your front door and get ready for your neighbors to come ask you where you got your lovely wreath!

Spring Wreath

What Spring crafts will you be making this year? 

4 Responses to “Easy DIY Spring Wreath”

  1. runfordessert April 19, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    I am so glad you posted about a DIY wreath; it’s as if you read my mind! I have been wanting to do the same thing but with a “T” instead. You have inspired me, Lady! I will be making one for our house soon.

    • Mandy April 19, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

      Well thank you! I’m glad I could help inspire you. 🙂 You should definitely look around on Pinterest for ideas – there are SO many and you will certainly get more inspiration there.

  2. Jennifer Garry (@jennifergarry) April 25, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    Love this! We still have our St. Patrick’s Day shamrock on the front door. Maybe it’s time to consider making something springy. lol.

    • Mandy May 1, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

      Lol Jen. Yes, break free from the shamrock! Throw a flower on that door, girl! 😉

Leave a Reply

