Quick & Easy Meal – Paula Deen’s Chicken & Rice Casserole

3 May

It’s been a little while since I did a food post so it’s time to do another one! Today I’m going to share with you one of my absolute favorite casseroles – Paula Deen’s Chicken & Rice Casserole.

Paula Deen's Chicken & Rice Casserole

Everyone knows Paula Deen is famous for her amazing food, and most people tend to think her recipes are pretty unhealthy. Considering the amount of butter they call for, I can understand why people think this. But the Chicken & Rice Casserole isn’t that bad, and I like to substitute as many lighter items as I can when making it. This is a great weekend meal where you’ll have leftovers the next day. I usually make it on Sundays and we’ll eat the leftovers Monday night, then still have some leftover that I’ll take for lunch a day or two later. It’s a very economical meal! Granted, my husband doesn’t love it as much as I do (I think he has trouble getting past the water chestnut consistency) but he lets me make it every now and then.

This casserole is very easy to prepare and only takes 25 minutes in the oven! Here’s the recipe and directions:

Ingredients:

1   10 3/4 ounce can condensed cream of celery soup
1   4 ounce jar pimentos
1   8 ounce can water chestnuts, drained and chopped
2   14 1/2 ounce cans green beans, drained and rinsed  (I use frozen green beans)
3 cup diced cooked chicken
1   medium onion, peeled and diced
2 tablespoon butter or vegetable oil  (I use olive oil)
1 cup mayonnaise  (I use lite mayo)
1   6 ounce box long-grain wild rice, cooked according to package directions
1 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese
1   pinch salt

DSC_0009

First, boil your chicken and transfer it to a plate, then dice it up and be sure to save your broth. Boil your green beans in the broth about 10 minutes, then drain them. Next, cook the box of rice as directed on the package. Sauté your onion over butter or olive oil. Then, in a large mixing bowl, combine the sautéed onions, pimentos, green beans, water chestnuts, can of Cream of Celery soup, and 1 cup of mayonnaise. Mix it well. Now add your diced chicken and the cheese and mix it up again.

DSC_0012

Transfer to a greased 3-quart casserole dish and cook on 350 for 25 minutes.

DSC_0016

You can add extra cheese to the top of the casserole during the last 5 minutes in the oven if you are a cheese freak (like my husband). Serve it up while it’s hot and enjoy! I love mine with a big glass of cold milk – mmm mmm! I might have to make this again soon.

DSC_0017

What are some staple casseroles in your house?

3 Responses to “Quick & Easy Meal – Paula Deen’s Chicken & Rice Casserole”

  1. Because I Saw It On Pinterest May 3, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    Your mixing bowl is sooooo cute!!!! I make those lasagna roll ups all the time. So good 🙂 Liv is over here saying, “I want Cassie-roll!” Hahaha!

    • Mandy May 3, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

      Thank you! It was my Gran’s. Glad you like the roll ups! I need to make them again soon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quick and Easy Meal – Chicken Spaghetti | Good Girls Inc - June 18, 2013

    […] can be very monotonous and boring, so we try to think of different ways to cook it. There’s the Paula Deen Chicken and Rice Casserole (which I’ve already shown you how to do), Chicken Alfredo, chicken salad, baked chicken, grilled […]

Leave a Reply

