Quick and Easy Meal – Chicken Spaghetti

18 Jun

We eat a lot of chicken in my house. Like, a lot. I’m talking 3 out of 5 meals will have chicken in them. Eating the same thing all the time can be very monotonous and boring, so we try to think of different ways to cook it. There’s the Paula Deen Chicken and Rice Casserole (which I’ve already shown you how to do), Chicken Alfredo, chicken salad, baked chicken, grilled chicken, etc, etc. But my absolute favorite chicken recipe is one I got from my mom that her mom gave her. Chicken Spaghetti was my favorite meal growing up – I always requested it on my birthday or for special occasions.

This recipe is near and dear to my heart, and I hope you and your family enjoy it as well. It’s a great, big casserole that can be eaten throughout the workweek. Here’s my recipe for Chicken Spaghetti.

DSC_0006

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2/3 package thin spaghetti noodles – noodles broken in half
1 can Campbell’s Cream of Celery Soup
1 yellow or Vidalia onion, chopped
1 green Bell Pepper, chopped
1 jar diced pimentos
2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese, divided
Salt, pepper, garlic powder to taste
Olive Oil

Boil your chicken in a large pot of water, transfer cooked chicken to a plate but reserve broth. Dice or shred the chicken, whichever you prefer. Cook the noodles in the reserved the broth. Sauté diced onion and pepper in olive oil until translucent.

DSC_0003

DSC_0008

In a large mixing bowl combine chopped chicken, onions, peppers, pimentos and soup. Spoon noodles into the mixture and stir well.  I usually add a few large spoonfuls of the reserved broth as well (this makes it less dry – you want it to have a juicy consistency but not too watery). Season it with salt, pepper and garlic powder (however much you like). Last, add 1 cup of cheese and stir it up real good.

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

Transfer to a large casserole dish and bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Cover the top of the casserole with the remaining cup of cheese during the last 5 minutes of cooking.

DSC_0014

DSC_0019

Let me know if you try this and like it, or if you are already making a version of Chicken Spaghetti! Enjoy! 

One Response to “Quick and Easy Meal – Chicken Spaghetti”

  1. runfordessert June 19, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    I LOVE chicken spaghetti! My mom used to make it all of the time when we were younger. It is a good meal and freezes well.

Leave a comment